Refashion a Dress into a Skirt

IMG_1269

I found this lovely dress in a charity shop. The fabric is so cute & the style reminds me of an Emery dress which is great. I tried it on in the shop and the arms seemed a little tight but I thought I could deal with it. Fast forward to the next time I’m trying the dress on, & I fear I might have to cut myself out of it.

Having ripped the armhole in my escape, it’s clear I can’t wear this dress. Unless… it’s a skirt! This is a super easy refashion. The dress had a gathered skirt, and basically all I did was create a waistband out of the bodice.

First, work out how wide you want your waistband, then cut twice that length up from the skirt. I went for a couple of inches. I had to cut through the zip which extended into the bodice.

IMG_1271

Next, I used my zipper foot to sew down the edges of the zip. Check the zip still works fine!

IMG_1282

Then, I folded the waistband down onto the skirt, wrong sides together, tucking under the raw edges and pinning them in place.

IMG_1284

Lastly, I stitched in the ditch (sewed with the right side up onto the seam between the waistband and the skirt) and I was done!

20160814_145834

If you want a slightly more rigid and strong waistband, you can interface it before stitching it down. I wasn’t too bothered/ was too enthusiastic about how quick a project this was turning out to be!

20160814_145843

Now, let us all go forth and make dresses into skirts.

6 thoughts on “Refashion a Dress into a Skirt

Leave a Reply

