Spaced

IMG_1237IMG_1235

I made a dress of space! I’m so excited about this one. Firstly, thank you to everyone who commented on my last blog post, whether on the blog, social media, or in real life! You’re all brilliant and lovely, and I’m glad my sentiments on not succeeding resonated with people.

As a quick recap, I bought a single duvet and pillow set secondhand from a charity shop. Second hand duvets are a great source of fabric. They’re easy to deconstruct, cheap, and quite often provide immediately complementary fabrics. In this instance, both sides had this starry pattern, but one side had these planets and galaxies and meteorites all over. Ooh it’s so fun I love it.

I decided to make the Lilou dress from Love at First Stitch, with the bodice in the ‘plain’, and the skirt in the planets. This is partly for balance, and partly because it would have been a squeeze to get it all from one side of the duvet.

In terms of fit, I lowered the armholes by a couple of centimeters, as they always seem to be coming up tight ordinarily. I didn’t draw the new armhole that neatly, but it’s ok. Next time I’ll be a bit more careful, as I am finding my bra strap escape from the sides.

20160813_165004

Here I am, wearing the dress with starry earrings because theme, and socks and brogues because it was a full day in Central London people, my feet need that comfort.

After my last blog post, I adjusted the back centre seam, and the fit is much better. Also, pockets! Which are easier than I thought they were, thanks Tilly!

20160813_165009

Amusingly, I didn’t have a long enough zip in my stash, and I couldn’t be bothered to wait. The dress comes on fine, but getting it off… takes a bit of time. It’s fine though, and if it ever becomes more of a problem I’ll just replace the zip.

20160813_165014

I wore it this weekend to London for a birthday lunch and I got loads of compliments. A hen party on the train was very impressed, to which I would say that drinking from wine glasses at 11am on a rickety train is more impressive. I mean, I couldn’t do that. These photos were taken outside the British Museum which was heaving but still cool. No space, but that’s ok.

20160813_165008 

Despite all it’s imperfections, I feel great in this dress. That’s what it’s all about in the end, right?

7 thoughts on “Spaced

Leave a Reply

