(Mending) The Mend is Nigh

On the subject of unfinished business (see my last post!), I decided I would mend all of my boyfriend’s socks. I know, I’m a hopeless romantic. This was partly because I couldn’t stand letting those holes get worse and worse whilst I stood by powerlessly, and partly because I really enjoy darning in front of the telly. I’m still working my way through them, but here’s another I completed recently. On this sock there wasn’t an actual hole, but the heel was getting really worn and a hole was on the horizon. Something had to be done.

IMG_1134

This is some swiss darning, so I sewed over the thinned areas, following the shapes of the knit. I did it kind of double sized because the wool I had was reasonably thick. Whilst having a quick peruse on the internet I found a few tutorials on swiss darning, such as this one, which is a tutorial for making patterns over knitting, but the process is the same. I don’t think it’s the neatest but hey it does the job.

IMG_1135

I really like the back, it looks pretty cool. Plus, it’s reinforced a weak spot nicely, before the sock degrades more. IMG_1136

There isn’t a huge lot else to see about this mend so I’ll leave it here. I hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend, and I’ll see ya next time!

Leave a Reply

