Why I Mend

How cute is that featured image though? I don’t even care it looks pretty amateur, I think it’s adorable. This post is going to be a personal reflection on why I think it’s worth mending clothes. It is not meant to be preachy, or chastising those who don’t mend, it’s just my opinions. My opinions tend to be rambling… Thanks for reading 🙂

Mending clothing is not exactly seen as the cool, photogenic angle of the sewing world. It can bring up images of war time efforts and being deprived of new, shiny projects. But, the fact of the matter is that mending is such a vital skill for extending the life of clothes which used up so many resources to get into your wardrobe. My main motivators for mending (other than it being fun!) are financial and environmental.

Firstly, financial. I, as a lot of people, am not exactly rolling in dollar. But, I like wearing clothes. It’s kinda a practical necessity too, given how cold I am, like, all of the time. if I didn’t mend my clothes, I don’t have the money to keep replacing jeans, skirts and so on when they wear and weather in ways I could solve really easily and quickly.

So, onto the environmental. There has been a lot of talk recently about how needless consumerism cannot continue as it currently has been, most visibly in the media when the Head of Sustainability at Ikea said we in the West have ‘reached peak stuff’.  In very basic terms (and this is going to be very basic!), it takes a lot of resources to make anything you wear. There’s the production of the fiber,  the production of the garment, distribution, bla di bla di bla, you know the drill. Loooong story short, I want to respect the people and resources which enabled me to buy that skirt from a shop/ second hand/ whatever. As another point, when I’ve put blood, sweat and tears into making something, it would be heartbreaking to not be able to fix my pride and joy’s should I need to.

I mend because I like clothes, and more importantly I like my clothes. I want them to last as long as possible and I’m not going to let a hem unraveling or a hole developing stop me from getting the most out of my garments.

This post is going to be a springboard of sorts for future posts. I’m going to be starting a mending series, where I will put a spotlight on things I have mended in order to extend its life. Some of them will be big darns or holes, whilst others might just be resewing the hem or sewing on a button. Most of the time, mending clothes doesn’t have to be complicated or lengthy, and I hope this series will help show that it’s so easy to make your clothes last longer.

Thanks for listening, and I’ll see you next time.

 

2 thoughts on “Why I Mend

  1. Mending is just the right thing to do. I am currently half way through a self imposed year of clothes shopping ban. I thought I would reduce the size of my wardrobe by wearing out the things I already have, but my experience is that actually very few things do wear out, not over this time scale anyway, except socks, I am continuously darning socks.

    Like

    1. I agree, clothes can last longer than you think. I’m wearing a jumper today I purchased when I was about 15, and still going strong, no holes as of yet! My sock darning pile, however, just gets bigger and bigger…

      Like

Leave a Reply

